The Plymouth University offers the BSc (Hons) degree in Computer systems and Networking having duration of 4 years. The course is divided as following:

First Year

  • Placement Preparation
  • Business Studies A
  • Introduction to Networks and Distributed Systems
  • Computer Systems
  • Fundamentals of Computer Networking
  • Database Development
  • Mathematics with Applications 1
  • Network Programming 1
  • Statistics for Networking

Second Year

  • Business Dynamics
  • Network and System Administration
  • Networking and Distributed Processing Principles
  • Network Security
  • Local and Wide Area Networks
  • Databases
  • Human-Computer Interaction
  • Computers and the Law
  • Integrating Project
  • Network Programming 2
Third Year
  • Computing Related Placement

Fourth Year

  • Distributed Systems
  • Advanced Network Mechanisms, Design and Management
  • Computing Project
Entry Requirements
  • Access To HE Courses (including Scottish Access)
  • Advanced Diploma
  • Cambridge Pre-U
  • International Baccalaureate
  • GCE A Level
  • BTEC National Diploma (18 units)


Phone: +44 (0)1752 587640


The Graduate School
Level 3, Link Building
University of Plymouth
Drake Circus
Plymouth PL4 8AA

To enrol for this course please apply through UCAS (see link under ‘IT Course providers’)