The University of Nottingham offers the BSc (Hons) degree in Computer Science having duration of 3 years. The course outline is as following:

First Year

  • Computer Systems Architecture
  • Introduction to Functional Programming
  • Mathematics for Computer Scientists
  • Introduction to Programming
  • Algorithmic Problem Solving
  • Database Systems
  • Introduction to Artificial Intelligence
  • Introduction to Requirements Engineering
  • Introduction to Object-Oriented Programming
  • Introduction to Software Engineering
  • Unix and Software Tools (Optional)
  • Web Programming and Scripting (Optional)

Second Year

  • Computer Communications and Networks
  • Concepts of Concurrency
  • Algorithms and Data Structures
  • Software Engineering Group Project
  • Machines and their Languages
  • Introduction to Formal Reasoning
  • Software Engineering Methodologies
  • Application Programming
  • Graphical User Interfaces
  • Advanced Functional Programming(Optional)
  • Human Computer Interaction(Optional)
  • Introduction to Image Processing(Optional)
  • Planning and Search(Optional)
  • AI Programming Techniques(Optional)
  • Introduction to Modelling and Optimisation(Optional)
  • C++ Programming(Optional)
Third Year
  • Operating Systems
  • Individual Dissertation Single Honours
  • Compilers
  • Computers in the World
  • Computability(Optional)
  • Automated Scheduling(Optional)
  • Bioinformatics(Optional)
  • Computer Security(Optional)
  • Knowledge Representation and Reasoning(Optional)
  • Machine Learning(Optional)
  • New Media Design(Optional)
  • Collaboration and Communication Technologies(Optional)
  • Computer Graphics(Optional)
Entry Requirements
  • A Level: ABB with computing/computer science.
  • GCSE maths at least grade B.
  • IB Score: 34 (5 in Maths at standard/higher level or GCSE Maths grade B)

Course Fees

UK/International student: £9,000


Phone: +44 (0) 115 951 5559


Enquiry Office: The University of Nottingham
King’s Meadow Campus
Lenton Lane
Nottingham, NG7 2NR

To enrol for this course please apply through UCAS (see link under ‘IT Course providers’)