The University of Chester offers the BSc (Hons) degree in Computer Science having duration of 3 years. The course is divided as following:

First Year

  • Information Analysis and Presentation
  • Multimedia Authoring 1
  • Introduction to Computer Systems
  • Cisco 1
  • Introduction to Programming
  • Introduction to Web Based Technologies

Second Year

  • Systems Development
  • Database Principles and Practice
  • Computer Systems and Networks
  • Further Programming and Problem Solving
  • Website Production and Development
Third Year
  • Dissertation (40 credits)
  • Modern Database Management Systems
  • Advanced Systems Analysis and Design
  • Advanced Programming
  • Managing a Computer Based Organisation
  • Technology Enhanced Learning
  • Network Infrastructure and Management
  • Intelligent Technologies
  • Managing a Web Based Environment
  • Multimedia Games Programming

Entry Requirement

  • UCAS points: A minimum of 240 – 280 UCAS points from GCE A Levels or equivalent
  • BTEC Extended Diploma/Diploma: merit/distinction profile
  • International Baccalaureate: 26 points
  • QAA: QAA recognised Access to HE Diploma, Open College Units or Open University Credits
  • The Advanced Diploma: acceptable on its own


Phone: 01244 512175


To enrol for this course please apply through UCAS (see link under ‘IT Course providers’)